A new look for the QTU in south east

Following State Conference's decision to establish an additional Organiser for the Union, work is underway to redistribute branches and create a new Area Council in the south east corner of the state.

Consideration of the location of the new Organiser was informed by the growth areas within the state. With new schools opening in Logan, North Lakes, Ipswich and Caloundra West, it is important to ensure members have ready access to QTU support through their Organiser and other officers.

As a consequence, branches and Union Reps in the south east corner have been consulted regarding the proposed changes. While the final composition will be reported to Council at the end of the consultation, it is anticipated that there will be five organisers in the current Brisbane metropolitan area and surrounds, with the Sunshine Coast and Gold Coast retaining a separate Organiser and office.

Key considerations when determining the new boundaries included:

  • areas of population and membership growth
  • size of branches in line with the sizes established in the QTU constitution and rules
  • advice from branches and Union Reps
  • member access to QTU support through Organisers and Officers
  • member numbers and potential members in each location.

New branches are likely to be established in Springfield, Narangba, Kawana and Benowa, with some branches being considered for amalgamation or further review in 2018 once the new boundaries or QTU Area Councils are established.

A full overview of the new regions will be provided at the beginning of 2018.

Kate Ruttiman                                                                                                                      Deputy General Secretary (Member Services)

Queensland Teachers' Journal, Vol 122 No 8, 3 November 2017, p4