28 October 2016        No. 29-16
[download as pdf]

World Teachers' Day - "Valuing teachers, improving their status"

Today we celebrate World Teachers’ Day across Australia, and it’s a particularly special one this year, with 2016 marking the 50th anniversary of the historic UNESCO/ILO Recommendation concerning the Status of Teachers adopted by an intergovernmental conference in Paris on 5 October, 1966.

Fittingly, the theme for this year’s World Teachers’ Day is “Valuing teachers, improving their status”.

A teacher is an inspiration, a guide, an instructor, a colleague and a friend. Your influence extends far beyond the school gates. Every day, you and every other teacher build the future of our local community, our state, our country and our world. It is one of the most important roles there is. Very few others even come close. You are a highly qualified professional, and you deserve recognition as such.

On behalf of the Queensland Teachers’ Union, thank you for your professionalism, collegiality and dedication to the children and young people of Queensland.

Important update – pay rise

The QTU has been advised by the department that the adjustments associated with the certification of the Department of Education and Training State School Teachers' Certified Agreement 2016 are scheduled to appear in the pay cycle ending 13 November (pay-day 9 November).

The QTU welcomes this first scheduled pay rise (back-dated to 1 July 2016) after advocating for the back payments not to occur in the same pay cycle as annual leave loading later in the year.

Queensland College of Teachers Excellence in Teaching Awards

On 27 October, the QCT presented its Excellence in Teaching Awards. The Queensland Teachers’ Union congratulates all finalists, but in particular we recognise those finalists and winners who came from a diverse range of state schools in Queensland.

Congratulations to finalists Sheva Butler (Wondai State School), Emily Dunleavy (Marsden State High School), Jessica Harvey (Andergrove State School), Oj Rugins (Cooroy State School), Kirsten Clements (Valkyrie State School), Strachan Kosanovic (Cavendish Road State High School) and Ian Perry (The Gap State High School).

Krystal Flynn (Tagai State College – Saibai Island Campus) won the Dr Roger Hunter OAM Excellence in Beginning to Teach Award. Kirsten Hogg (Queensland Academies – Science, Maths and Technology) won the Dr Alan Druery OAM Excellence in Teaching Award. Sunanda Bradbury (Emerald North State School) won the Dr John Dwyer Excellent Leadership in Teaching and Learning Award.

The prestigious Professor Betty H Watts Memorial Award for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching was won by both Jim Wagner (Trinity Bay State High School) and Kath Kayrooz (Queensland Academies – Science, Maths and Technology).

Happy World Teachers’ Day 2016

 Authorised by Graham Moloney, General Secretary, Queensland Teachers' Union