Contacting your QTU

General enquiries

Call 07 3512 9000 or email

Member assistance or advice: Queensland Teachers' Assist Desk (QTAD)

For other member services, head office and regional office contact details see below:

Membership information: For information on your QTU membership or to join

Union training | professional development: Queensland Teachers' Education Centre (QTEC)

QTU Library

The QTU Library provides a service to all members and student members and is available to researchers in the areas of: professional educational issues, industrial issues and legislation and other issues relevant to the education sector. 

Brisbane (Head office)

General inquiries and to contact QTU officers and members of QTU Executive

Phone: 07 3512 9000
Freecall: 1800 068 665
Fax: 07 3512 9050

Address: 21 Graham St, Milton Q 4064
Postal: PO Box 1750, Milton LPO 4064

Office hours: 8.30 - 5.00pm Mon-Fri

Media enquiries: Contact President Kevin Bates  (07) 3512 9000.

Media resources: Images of QTU Senior Officers ; |  QTU Media Releases

Senior Officers

President: Mr Kevin Bates

Vice President:  Ms Sam Pidgeon 

Honorary Vice-President:  Ms Jenny Swadling

General Secretary: Mr Graham Moloney

Deputy General Secretaries: Ms Kate Ruttiman, Mr Brendan Crotty

Assistant Secretaries

Services/Welfare - Industrial/Research

Mr Mark Anghel (Legal/Services)

Mr Jeff Backen (Services)

Ms Paige Bousen (Education Leaders)

Ms Lynn Cowie-McAlister (New Educators)

Ms Thalia Edmonds (Industrial Advocate)

Ms Leah Mertens (Research Officer)

Ms Penny Spalding (Services/Women's Coordinators) - Monday; Tuesday; Friday

Ms Kevina O'Neill (Research & industrial Issues) 

Mr Craig Wood (Acting Industrial Advocate)

Executive Members

The members of Executive for the current term, 20 May 2017 to 19 May 2020

  • Perry Anderson 
  • Kevin Bates 
  • Andrew Beattie 
  • Nat Clarke 
  • Allan Cook 
  • Brendan Crotty 
  • Peter Darben 
  • Anna Kahler 
  • Graham Moloney 
  • Kerry O'Connor 
  • Leah Olsson 
  • Sam Pidgeon 
  • Cresta Richardson 
  • Nikki Roos 
  • Kate Ruttiman 
  • Jenny Swadling 
  • Penny Taylor 
  • Andrew Thompson 
  • Scott Tibaldi 
  • Craig Wood


Mr Allan Cook, Mr Don Mengel, Ms Anne Rathmell, Ms Maryjane Woodgate

Brisbane based organisers

Brisbane based organisers can be contacted through the head office or or through the links below

Logan Redlands : Kelly Creedonmore information>

Metropolitan Central : Gillian Armit - more information>

Metropolitan North: Lin Esders  - more information>

Metropolitan South: Ben Vercoe  - more information>

Metropolitan West Logan: Elissa Ferguson  - more information>

TAFE: David Terauds -more information>

Central Queensland (Rockhampton office)

Phone: 07 4920 4200
Organiser: Dan Coxen

More information for members in the Central Queensland area > 

Gold Coast (Varsity Lakes office)

Phone: 07 5562 6800
Mobile: 0437 733 062
Organiser: Jodie Walsh
More information for members in the Gold Coast area > 

Peninsula and Northwest (Cairns office)

Phone: 07 4046 7500
Organiser: Maureen Duffy
Officer: Leah Olsson 

More information for members in the Peninsula and Northwest area > 

North Queensland (Townsville office)

Phone: 07 4722 6400
Mobile: 0408 771 694
Organiser: Paul Waters

More information for members in the North Queensland area > 

South Queensland (Toowoomba office)

Phone: 07 4614 4600
Organiser: Zeb Sugden 

More information for members in the South Queensland area > 

Sunshine Coast (Birtinya office)

Phone: 07 5413 1700
Mobile : 0407 715 476
Organiser:  Meegan Maguire

More information for members in the Sunshine Coast area > 

Wide Bay (Maryborough office)

Phone: 07 4120 0300
Organiser: Scott Welch

More information for members in the Wide Bay area >