gandu_jarjum_logoforweb.jpgGandu Jarjum

The QTU Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Committee

For more information about QTU membership or the activities of Gandu Jarjum, contact your QTU organiser or Kim Roy, Secretary to the Committee, PO Box 1750, Milton, BC QLD 4064, phone 07 3512 9000.

 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participation and representation

To ensure indigenous representation and participation, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander QTU members and applicants to QTU membership are invited to complete and return this form

Gandu Jarjum
  •  is a forum providing an Indigenous voice in the QTU;
  • coordinates QTU representation and advocacy on Department of Education committees and working groups on Indigenous education;
  • develops submissions on Indigenous issues to the Department of Education, State and Commonwealth Governments, and other bodies;
  • oversees the development of QTU Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Policy; 
  • promotes Indigenous teacher networks;
  • provides opportunities to Indigenous QTU members for professional and industrial relations development;
  • sends Indigenous QTU members to participate in state, national and international conferences on Indigenous issues;
  • maintains links with other organisations (e.g. Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation, the Aboriginal Reconciliation Council, Brisbane Council of Elders);
  • has Indigenous representatives on the national AEU Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education and AEU TAFE Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Committees;
  • sponsors cross-cultural and anti-racism seminars for teachers;
  • participates in activities such as NAIDOC week and National Sorry Day.

The QTU has established an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Educators Network for members who would like to receive information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education and current issues.  Sign up here to be on the mailing list

Committee members (2014-2017) 

  • Penny Taylor (Chair)
  • Sam Bann
  • Letitia Choppy
  • Cheryn Coats
  • Beresford Domic
  • Mayrah Dreise
  • Lynley Halliday
  • Peter Lubke
  • Davina Kelly
  • Leeanne Konstantinou
  • Margi Malezer
  • James Matysek
  • Letitia Murgha
  • Amanda Power
  • Lyndal Thompson
  • The Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples released its final report in June 2015.
  • Check out the resources in the Schools Kit on the Recognise Website