QTU System upgrade : Please reset your password when logging in - click on "Forgot password?"

Special education teachers

Within the Union, a Standing Committe, the Special Education Committee. has been established to formulate  & draft policy, to provide specialist advice to Executive and Council, and to make recommendations for action and campaigns in support of Union policy within its areas of responsibilit which include any matters relating to special education and the employment, status and conditions of Union members employed in special education.

Current members of the QTU Special Education Committee:

Brent Woollett | Andrew Thompson (Chair) | Sheldon Boland | Lisa Hurrell | Kellie Baldwin | Sarah Lockwood | Steve Leese | Jenny McLeod | Tracey Banks | Kellie Ryan | Lauren Quinn | Janet Firmstone | Karen Messit | Dan Simmonds

Supported by Jeff Backen, QTU Assistant Secretary (

The Committee - the role and Terms of office of its members

special_ed.gifThe QTU Special Education Committee is a Standing Committee of the QTU which:

  • makes recommendations to QTU Conference or Council on appropriate policies for the QTU in the area of special education;
  • makes recommendations and provides advice to Executive and/or Council on any matters related to special education;
  • gives consideration to matters referred to it by Executive, Council, Conference, Branches and Area Councils;
  • receives and considers reports from QTU Representatives on outside bodies which have to do with special education and provides appropriate advice on these reports to Executive or Council. 

A broad overview of the work of the Committee is provided in its annual report to the QTU State Council.

– 2021 SEC report

QTU Special Education Committee consists of 10 members elected by QTU State Council plus a chair who is a member of QTU Executive.

The Committee meets quarterly and if you have an issue or concern you wish the committee to consider, please provide the relevant information to

Terms of office are for three year periods (current term expires May 2023). Vacancies on the Committee are advertised in the Teachers’ Journal and on the QTU website and any financial member of the Union can nominate.

The Committee meets quarterly in Milton (some members participate via teleconference or Zoom).

The Committee and the QTU take a broad view of what constitutes “special education” and the QTU defines students with special educational needs (the target population for the delivery of special education services) to include those students:

  • with disabilities;
  • with learning difficulties/disabilities
  • who demonstrate significant behavioural and adjustment difficulties;
  • who have significant medical conditions

Roselynne Anderson QTU Scholarship

Roselynne Anderson QTU Scholarship header.jpg

In August 2021, QTU Life Member, Roselynne Anderson passed away suddenly following an unexpected illness.

The QTU has introduced the Roselynne Anderson QTU Scholarship in 2022 and up to three members will be awarded up to $1500 to pursue further professional development, training or further tertiary education relevant to special education, school leadership or women in education.

Further information about the scholarship and the application form is available on the QTU website.

Special Education Network News

The Committee also maintains a “Special Education Network” members of which will receive a summary of issues considered by the Committee through the Special Education Network newsletter.Special Education Network Newsletters.

Join the Special Education network here

In this issue: Roselynne Anderson scholarship | SWD staffing review
In this edition: SWD staffing model review | Griffith Uni reduced fee courses

we are ready to help you